Have a question about Machine Labs pricing plans or billing system? You'll find all the answers here.
What is your Pioneer Plan?
Our Pioneer Plan is available for our first 1000 customers only; really it's a little thank you from us for being one of the first to use Machine Labs.
On this plan, you’ll get access to all our product features forever alongside some limited edition merchandise too.
It’s free for the first 30 days and then permanently billed every 30 days at the rates listed below (62% cheaper than our advanced plan regular price).
This plan includes 15 sends per contact and up to 10 device previews. You can also make use of 25+ pre-designed templates and our smart segmentation, whilst also placing your own branding on the footer of every email.
How do you calculate subscriber numbers?
We consider a subscriber to be a contact that belongs to at least one mailing list.
When you integrate your Shopify store with Machine Labs, we create 3 default mailing lists; Customers, Newsletter and Abandoned Checkouts. These mailing lists are populated using the following criteria:
The Customers list comprises of contacts who have made at least one purchase from your Shopify store.
The Newsletter list comprises of contacts who are listed in the "email subscribers" section within the customer tab in your Shopify dashboard. These contacts have either signed up via the Newsletter subscription field on your Shopify store, or by ticking the "Keep me up to date on news and exclusive offers" field during the checkout process (depending on how your Shopify store is configured).
The Abandoned Checkout list comprises of contacts who have abandoned their cart during the checkout process, after they have provided contact information. This list is only used for abandoned cart automations and cannot be used in email campaigns.
You can also create your own custom mailing lists and add contacts to them. Contacts within custom mailing lists are also counted in the subscriber total.
How much do I pay?
You are charged for the number of subscribers within your mailing lists. You are not charged for the contacts on your suppression list.
To estimate how much you will be billed, use our calculation bar here, or for a precise bill visit the billing settings page within your Machine Labs account (accessible from the top right menu within the Machine Labs app).
Do you charge multiple times if the same subscriber is in multiple lists?
No, we only count a contact as a subscriber once, regardless of how many mailing lists they belong to.
How many emails can I send?
Our Pioneer Plan includes 15 sends per contact. We recommend that you exercise caution however, as over-emailing your database can lead to increased unsubscribes and spam reports. We suggest emailing your contacts once per week on average.
Will I be automatically charged after the free trial?
Once your 30 day free trial ends, you'll be charged based on the number of mailing list subscribers within your Machine Labs brand.
If you don't wish to continue using Machine Labs, you can uninstall the application from your Shopify store's applications. You won't be billed once the app is uninstalled.
When and how do I pay?
We bill in advance of your usage, from the the first day after your 30 day trial. This date will become your own unique monthly billing date for your Machine Labs app subscription.
We pass your bill on to Shopify, so your payment is securely handled through them. Your recurring app charge will appear on your regular Shopify subscription bill, which has a different billing cycle.
It's a little complex, read more about Shopify's billing cycles here.
I've now got more subscribers and qualify for the next tier, will I automatically be billed more?
As our billing is handled through Shopify's payments platform, you are asked to authorize a maximum charge upon integrating your store with Machine Labs. The value of this authorized amount is based on the number of contacts you have at the time of integration, but it's likely your subscriber list will grow alongside your store.
If your subscriber list grows enough to qualify you for a higher tier than you've currently authorized, you'll be asked to authorize a new maximum charge. You'll see a banner appear on the Machine Labs app, and we'll send an email informing you of this. Simply click on the banner or the link within the email and you'll be taken to Shopify where you can authorize the new amount. The banner and emails will start up to 7 days before your billing date, so you'll have plenty of time to authorize the new amount and avoid any service disruption.
If you do not authorize the new amount by the billing date, your account will be temporarily suspended.
If your account is suspended, don't panic. All your data will still be there waiting for you once the account is reactivated. You just won't be able to send campaigns/automation emails or export segments during this time.
I have more questions, can I ask a real person?
Of course! Send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or click here. We'll be happy to answer any queries you might have within 48 hours (and often much sooner).