1. Help Center
  2. Getting Started

How do I set user permissions?

Manage what your brand users can view, export or create

You can add multiple team members to your Machine Labs brand account. Machine Labs offers a simple permission system to limit what team members can do within the brand account to help align with their role in your organisation.

Role overview

Machine Labs offers 4 toggle-able permission roles, explained below. All users (regardless of roles assigned to them) can:

  • View the campaign timeline and campaign reports (found via the "Campaigns" tab on the left navigation bar),
  • View active automations and automation reports (found via the "Automations" tab on the left navigation bar),
  • View the pop-ups area (found via the "Pop-ups" tab on the left navigation bar), 
  • View reports (found via the "Reports" tab on the left navigation bar), 
  • Manage their personal account information such as their name, email address and password, 
  • Add a new brand to their account. 

Manage contact data

This role defines whether a brand user can access and amend personal information about contacts within your database. With this permission, the user will have access to the "Contacts" area of the product (found via the "Contacts" tab on the left navigation bar). This includes the ability to:

  • View personally identifiable information about contacts in your database, such as their full name, email address, phone number, residential address and interactions with Machine Labs and your e-commerce store.
  • Add/Import contacts to your database manually.
  • View and modify your contact segments, including viewing the contacts that belong to each segment.
  • View and modify your mailing lists, including viewing the contacts that belong to each mailing list.

This role does not give the brand user the ability to export the contact database.

Export data

This role defines whether a brand user can export data from Machine Labs. Currently contacts are the only data that is exportable. In order to assign this role to a brand user, the user must also have the "Manage contact data" role enabled.

Exporting contact data can be done via the export button located on the top right of the contact table, accessible via the "Contacts" tab on the left navigation bar. 

Create content

This role defines whether a brand user can create or modify content such as campaigns, automations or pop-ups. With this permission, the user can:

  • Create new campaigns, or amend draft/future scheduled campaigns,
  • Create new automations, or edit/pause existing automations, and
  • Create a new pop-up, or edit/delete an existing popup.

Manage brand settings & access

This role defines whether a brand user can access and amend the following brand settings:

  • Brand settings,
  • Email settings,
  • Integrations,
  • Team settings, and
  • Billing details.

All of these are found within the top left hamburger menu.

Note: We require at least one team member to have this permission enabled.

Adding a new team member

Adding a new team member requires the "Manage brand settings & access" role. 

You can add a team member from the Team settings page, accessible from the top left hamburger menu. When adding a team member, enter their email address into the email address field and optionally select one or more of the permissions below this field. You can then use the Add team member button and an email will be sent to the address entered prompting the user to create a new account (if they do not already have a Machine Labs account), or informing them that they have access to a new brand (if they already have a Machine Labs account).

Changing permissions of a team member

Changing the role permissions of a new team member requires the "Manage brand settings & access" role. 

You can change role permissions of a team member from the Team settings page, accessible from the top left hamburger menu. There will be a table of all team members associated with your brand, along with checkboxes denoting which permissions they have assigned to them. Simply check/uncheck the appropriate box and the roles will automatically update and save.

Removing a team member

Removing a team member requires the "Manage brand settings & access" role. 

You can remove a team member from the Team settings page, accessible from the top left hamburger menu. There will be a table of all team members associated with your brand, each with a red cross at the far right side of the table. Click on the red cross associated with the team member that you wish to remove and you will be prompted to confirm your choice. Once confirmed, the team member will no longer be able to access your Machine Labs brand.